Summer Vacation Part 3 – Florida: Magic Kingdom

After a few days in DC Coco and I headed to Disneyworld with my good friend Jessi and her husband Tom. Jessi and I used to work together and our classrooms shared a wall. We used to open the door and chat with each other throughout the day and we became such good friends. I cried when I moved knowing it would be hard to make another friend like that so quickly. Am I the only one who finds it difficult to make new friends as an adult? Seems like adults always have an agenda or are jealous or don’t get you or something. But I digress. This post is about Disneyworld!!

Jessi and Tom have a timeshare so we stayed there for five days while we did the whole Disney thing. Let me tell you, if you have never been there is it so over the top. Everything is so big and so shiny and so incredible. The food is expensive, the lines are long, Florida is hot-hot-hot in the summer and the place is huge so you get tired walking around but it is like nothing you’ve ever experienced. I was wowed by so much; I can only imagine what it’s like for a child!

Coco likes princesses but she’s not obsessed with them and doesn’t know their names like most 4-year-old girls. She found them pretty cool and all but she was more into Captain Hook, Elmo and Mickey Mouse. She was too short to go on most of the rides (I think age 6 is probably the perfect age to go) but she still had fun on the Flying Carpet ride, the Spinning Teacups and the Merry-go-rounds. Her favorite thing of all though was the Electric Light parade. I have to agree that the fireworks and the parade were awesome.

Day 1 we arrived and got settled. Day 2 we went to Magic Kingdom. Day 3 we went to Animal Kingdom. Day 4 we went to Sea World and Day 5 we went back to Magic Kingdom. It was a packed agenda and we walked miles and miles and miles each day. Here are some pics from Day 1 and Magic Kingdom:Doggie needed his own luggage tag. 🙂

I picked up the Minnie Mouse t-shirt months several months ago. I was happy with how well it matched the skirt she already owned. The ears I got the first morning in Florida.

Checking out her ears in the mirror. 🙂 Ready to go!

   I learned this trick on another blog. Such a great idea! She now knows that I must be able to see her feet at all times when I am in the restroom. Her feet don’t move an inch.      It was a great first day!

This entry was posted in friends, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Vacation Part 3 – Florida: Magic Kingdom

  1. Jessi says:

    🙂 A smiley face is all I have to say about this post!

  2. YAY for Disney and Orlando! I did the feet trick with my stepson anytime he and I would go to the theme parks just the two of us. I thought I was the only one. And yes, I do agree it is difficult to make friends as an adult.

Leave a Reply

