Our Walls

There is one thing that can really help make your house abroad feel more like your home and that is personalizing your walls. For me that means hanging things that make me happy or bring back good memories and lots and lots of photos of loved ones. Our new apartment is really small so it’s going to be easy to fill the walls with cherished items. Here’s what’s on there so far:

1. The dining room – On one wall I have a collage of photos from travels from along ago (Paris, Anchorage, Rome, Venice, and Santa Barbara) and on the opposite wall is a large fan I received as a gift last year. It was made locally and has a painting of the Philippines on it. I need to buy some other things from this area to decorate cause this is it for now. (don’t mind the plants.. they are struggling but hanging on)

2. The living room – This is still a work in progress but this is what we have so far. This picture below is what you see when you first walk into our house. I love the quote but I can’t take credit for it. The previous tenant had it and I asked them to leave it up for me.
I added some of Coco’s preschool art. ♥On the other side of the living room I have these hanging. The wall hanging is from Ethiopia and so is the cross. I love having items from Ethiopia in our home.

3. Coco’s room is far from finished but here is what is in there as of today:Another cross from Ethiopia and a thrift store find (I’m going to repaint the frame pink).

4. The hallway has some photos of friends on one wall (with more to come). I am going to rematt the photos at some point and change them out but for now they remind me of good times. Another wall in the hallway has a map of the island of Martha’s Vineyard (one of my favorite places in the world) and a photo I took while vacationing there several years ago. That’s about it for now. I have a bunch of photos I am organizing for the family photo wall and I want to hang more of Coco’s art and get some more art from our host country.

My room has nothing up right now except for these small things. The cross my mom brought me back from her trip to… Peru? Guatemala? I must ask her.And these, well they are just fun. The crab was another thrift store find and I love it cause I’m a cancer and sign just cracks me up. Coco’s Godmother and my very good friend, Titi, got that for me and I love it. It’s so true. She knows me well.

This entry was posted in family, friends, home, Philippines and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Our Walls

  1. Annie says:

    Looks like you guys are really settling in!
    You are an inspiration with how well you are adapting to your ex-pat life.

  2. Jessi says:

    So cute. Love the crab (its the Maryland Eastern Shore upbringing that makes me love anything with crabs 🙂

  3. Very nice and very homely.

Leave a Reply

