Another Lovely Weekend

Can I just tell you how much I love my new place? I definitely made the right decision. It’s perfect for us. Coco and I have so much fun just hanging out at home.

This weekend flew by and was so fun! I went to the Buddha Bar on Friday night which was fun but Coco and I did so much together as well. Here’s what we did..

As I was getting dressed to go out to The Buddha Bar, Coco took my wall hanging and tied it around her head. She created these looks all by herself. First she did this African head wrap thing and then she channeled a Russian babushka! I don’t know where she learned it but she’s got a knack for tying scarves/wraps – that’s for sure!

On Saturday morning we woke up to sun! It was so nice to see!

After errands and a lovely 2-hour nap we took advantage of the nice weather and spent some  time at the pool.On Sunday we went for a drive so Coco could visit a friend. The traffic was absolutely horrendous. I was trapped in the car for almost two hours with a preschooler who asks hundreds of questions a day. OMG she asks soooooooooo many questions!!

I got some interesting shots, though taken through a closed window so not the clearest..(those buy one, take one sandwiches are about two for 80¢)

   

On Sunday we baked cookies. Here’s the recipe from Comfy Belly. They are really good!!

Cinnamon Cookies

Ingredients (makes about 22 cookies)

  • 1/3 cup of honey
  • 4 tablespoons of unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon of sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 2 cups of blanched almond flour

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 275 degrees F.
  2. Melt the butter.
  3. Combine the butter with all the other ingredients in a mixing bowl and blend the ingredients until well combined.
  4. With a spoon or your fingers, create small, balls of dough, about an inch in diameter, and place them on a buttered baking sheet (or a baking mat on a baking sheet).
  5. Press each cookie to flatten it using either the palm of your hand or the back of a fork or knife. Then criss-cross the top of the cookie with the back of a fork to get the hatch pattern. Optionally, you can sprinkle some cinnamon on the top of each cookie.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes.
  7. Turn the cookies over and lower the temperature of the oven to 175 degrees F.
  8. Bake the cookies for another 10 minutes. (For a crunchier cookie, leave them in the oven at 175 degrees F for another 15 minutes or so).
  9. Cool and enjoy!

I used maple syrup instead of honey and substituted vanilla for cinnamon (but then sprinkled cinnamon on top before baking). I also just left them in the oven longer instead of flipping them and baking them in reduced heat and they turned out fine. Better than fine! They were really good! We ate almost all of them!!

Sunday night I made tacos for dinner. Coco told me she was only going to eat the taco shell. I told her to try them because I thought she’d like them and did she ever. She ate THREE!Before bed I did Coco’s hair. It’s hard to find styles that are both easy and can last the week –which they need to do because there isn’t enough time in the morning. This style came out really cute. Then she watched a movie on the portable DVD player with headphones. Ahhh… silence! 🙂

This entry was posted in firsts, food, hair and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Lovely Weekend

  1. I’m gonna try those cookies!

Leave a Reply

