Food

So I stopped posting about food but not because I have stopped eating! lol Not by a long shot. In fact, food remains something I am obsessed with and focus a ton of time on daily. In my quest to be healthy and fit and feel good (toned, not exhausted, not addicted to sugar & carbs, strong, pain-free) I believe food is a huge factor. Yes, sleep and reduced stress, exercise and eliminating toxins in cleaning and beauty products are also extremely important and I am working on those as well but food is more interesting to me I guess so it gets the most time. 🙂

When I cook or my yaya prepares meals they are healthy and nutritious about 75% of time. I try to steer clear of wheat, refined sugar and processed foods and eat lots of organic vegetables, eggs, grass-fed meats and coconut oil. I purchased a cast iron pan (which I love) and some probiotics, which I take occasionally. I need to be more consistent and I should be eating more fermented foods, soaking my nuts and taking cod liver oil but I’m getting better. My biggest problem is when I find myself hungry and without good choices I am way to quick to eat the pizza/Oreos/factory farmed chicken. The good news is when I do eat junk now I often feel terrible so I do it less and less frequently.

I’m lucky that there are some good farmers markets here where I can find organic produce, good sources for chicken/eggs/honey/coconut oil and raw dairy if I want it but again I just need to be more consistent! I think one way to do this is to be more involved in the process. It’s great to have someone who can do the shopping and the cooking but then I really can’t be sure it’s to the standards that I have set. To that end I have decided I need to get in the kitchen more and prepare more of my own meals. I also need to rid our house of the foods I shouldn’t have purchased in the first place (granola bars, Cheerios, taco shells, gluten-free bread mix, etc.) Considering I know I am going to slip up from time to time outside of the home, my own kitchen should be as close to perfect as possible.

The other day I tried my hand at homemade mayonnaise and I made the also made the most amazing chicken ever. If I’m going to stay the course, the food needs to taste good!!! I will post pictures and recipes soon! I am also planning on doing a 30-Day Paleo challenge and a 21-Day Sugar Detox before the end of 2012 so stay tuned.

What do you think is the most important thing you can do for health?

This entry was posted in food, health, Philippines, yaya and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food

  1. Ally says:

    Thanks for reading – good luck to you too with your upcoming goals! 🙂

  2. pierre leavell says:

    The most important thing you can do for your health is set realistic healthcare goals that are sustainable. Small portions of what you like to eat, some form of exercise (combination of light to moderate) and a focusd effort to get enough good sleep (w/o interruptions) is key to your success. Good Luck Joy!

Leave a Reply

