Day 7

Snapped this photo driving to work today. It looks all blurry but that has more to do with the thick haze of exhaust and humidity in the air. Can someone tell me what “May real juice at real fruit” means??

Speaking of driving to work, I thought it would be cool to share the craziness that driving in Manila is. Unfortunately the video clip I took this morning was completely unrepresentational (is that a word?) of how it is! It made it look almost calm and relaxing! It is so not! I hate driving here. About a half mile up the road some fool decided to make a right hand turn from the left hand lane right in front of me! I slammed on the breaks, laid on the horn and loudly cussed him out (with the windows rolled up –Filipinos carry guns, yo). I was thankful to have averted a heart attack but it caused me ridiculous amounts of unnecessary stress and drama for 6:45 in the morning.

No food photos today.

Breakfast: 3-egg omelette with red peppers, onions, sea salt and spices and 1/2 avocado, hot ginger water, 4 sections of pomello

Snack: mint tea with coconut sugar, 1 bueblerry nana muffin

Lunch: salad (lettuce, red pepper, chicken, avocado), some carrots w/ zucchini hummus and one more muffin, water   (Wait! Spoke too soon! Found a photo of this meal):

Snack: 3 squares of dark chocolate

Dinner: I made up a chicken dish with coconut milk, cumin, tumeric, cinnamon, sea salt, fish oil, chili peppers, raisins… I was throwing all kinds of things in the pot! lol
And then I had some more pomello and 3 mini cookies.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Um, yes, I realize I had chocolate and cookies after I said I wasn’t going to, but then I decided –so what!!! At least I didn’t drink the beer chillin’ in my fridge! And this is the thing –I am eating SO MUCH better than I ever have and not having trouble sticking to it! So I have a couple of muffins or a few squares of dark chocolate here and there. It’s so far superior to the candy bars and cookies I used to buy when I lived in the States and it’s keeping me on track. You’re right Pierre and Jessi – keep them in for now. Maybe in a couple of months I will be able to go really hard-core and do this with Crossfit or something but for now it’s pretty damn impressive that I see junk I used to go crazy over and it barely phases me. So as I head into week two I am going to keep doing the same as far as food and try to focus on exercising and getting to bed before 10:30 every night.

This entry was posted in food, goals, health, Philippines and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 7

  1. Laurie says:

    Zucchini hummus looks good! Do you have a recipe that you like?

Leave a Reply

