Tagaytay

Last weekend I hired a driver and we took a day trip to Tagaytay. Tagaytay is about 90 minutes from Manila, clean and green and away from the pollution. The weather was beautiful the day we went. It was a great place to spend the day.

We took a boat ride across Taal Lake and rode horses (donkeys? they were very small!) up Taal Volcano. Though it hasn’t had any eruptions in years, Taal Volcano is still considered an active volcano! I didn’t realize this until I got home and read up on it! Yikes. Thankfully nothing happened.

It was really beautiful though. I got some good pictures on the drive down and back and the lake and the volcano were beautiful. Coco loved riding the horse!!

I saw pineapple growing for the first time:And then the gorgeous scenery came into view:We rented a banca boat and headed over to the volcano. The ride was about fifteen minutes and immediately rejuvenating. It was so hard to believe that we were in Manila that morning. I felt so far removed. It was lovely and peaceful and relaxing.

When we arrived on the other side we rented horses and guides led us up the mountain. These horses (donkeys?) were so darn small, the walk up was long and hot and I’m not a small woman! My poor horse got so sweaty! I wanted to buy him some water but they said it would make him sick so the poor guy trudged up and down the mountain in the blazing sun with me (and sometimes my guide) on his back.

The view from the top looking down at the crater in the volcano was really pretty.

Going back down had some amazing views as well.

At the base of the mountain there were some interesting things to shoot..

We took the boat back to the car and then grabbed some lunch.

Nice day trip out of  the city. A really fun day!

This entry was posted in firsts, Philippines, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tagaytay

  1. You guys are having a ball. That trip looked so peaceful.

    D

  2. pierre leavell says:

    Looks like a great time!

  3. Laurie says:

    That looks like so much fun!!

  4. De says:

    So maybe I missed it in all this time, but I was wondering… why did you move to Manila? Also, do you see how much CoCo is looking like you. Isn’t it amazing. People tell me all the time how my blue-eyed blond looks like me and I just have to laugh as I am a brown-skinned Momma.

    Peace!

    • Joy says:

      I moved here to find some balance in my life, pay off debt and to have a nanny! Two out of three ain’t bad — still working on balance.
      Do you really think she looks like me? I don’t really see it but it’s nice to think others do.

  5. zoya7 says:

    Wow, it looks great! You two are really heaving a great time sightseeing!

Leave a Reply

