Chocolate Berry Cookies

These cookies are so good!!! – OMG!!

I was flipping through Elana Amsterdam’s The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook and found a recipe called Double Chocolate Cherry Cookies. They looked amazing and since I have tried many of her recipes (have you seen her blog?) and they are all amazing I figured these would be yummy, too.

Problem was we didn’t have all the ingredients on hand so I had to improvise and the result was out of this world!!  So. freaking. good!!!!! Below is her original recipe with my adaptations. Make these – you will love them (and me!)

Double Chocolate Cherry Chocolate Berry Cookies
by Elana Amsterdam Joy

2 3/4 c. blanched almond flour
1/2 t. sea salt
1/2 t. baking soda
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup grapeseed oil coconut oil
3/4 cup agave nectar maple syrup
1 T vanilla
1 cup coarsely chopped dark chocolate
1 cup dried fruit-juice-sweetened cherries Large handful of frozen mixed berries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking pan with parchment paper.
Mix all ingredients together in a bowl (she says to whisk things and fold wet into dry and all these other steps which I found completely unnecessary).
Make cookie size balls that you like on the baking sheet and press down slightly.
Bake 10-15 minutes. Serve warm (though they are good room temperature and frozen too!)

I’m telling you, these are amazing!! Not low-calorie but oh, so good! Try them!!!

Meanwhile, are you wondering how things are going with me in the October Unprocessed challenge? Oh, you’re not? Well I’m going to tell you anyways! lol Food-wise I am failing. Yes, I have eaten homemade cookies and salads every day with homemade dressing and baked chicken and grilled zucchini and ox tail stew and lamb curry and omelettes and other healthy things but I have also made some bad choices. Very bad choices. Like Krispy Kreme donut bad. Yes I went there. Down a sugary, deep-fried, processed flour path. Bad, bad me. But to be honest it could be worse. I used to eat processed foods daily in my former life the States so what I eat now is better than that but I am in not doing as well as I expected. In fact, I did better last month when I did my 21-day challenge. But at least I am doing better with the sleeping aspect. I’ve been getting to bed before 11:00 most nights and if I didn’t get hit with this terrible sore throat I would be working out more, too. Just keeping it real! And it’s not the end of the world cause there’s always next month!

This entry was posted in expat life, food, goals, health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

