Homemade Tortillas

This week’s Coco Cooking Project (I just came up with that catchy name!) was homemade tortillas! Who knew it would be so easy? I used this recipe. I was, however, super irritated that the ingredients were listed like this:

2 cups masa harina corn flour
1.5 to 2 cups water

…only to discover when I read further down (after I mixed it up) that the water was supposed to be very, very hot. I added some additional hot water later (I had only put in 1.5 cups) and they seemed to be fine but it was the first time I made them so I am not sure what the difference would have been.

The recipe says to use a tortilla press to flatten them but since I don’t own one all I did was swirl a bit of butter and olive oil in my cast iron pan, put a spoonful of the mixture in, lay some parchment paper on top of the ball of dough and then press it down flat with a spatula. They weren’t as thin as I may have preferred but they were still tasty. We topped ours with a some shredded sharp cheddar cheese, veggies and sea salt. Tasty!

Coco had brocolli and cheddar on hers and I had mine with cheddar with sayote.

This entry was posted in Coco, food, health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

