Baked Oatmeal

We made baked oatmeal this week. Coco did a great job stirring it all together. I found the recipe on Sweet Roots. I never made oatmeal with coconut milk and flax seeds before and the banana I put it wasn’t ripe and although it sounded good (and healthy) I wasn’t sure how it would taste. And then I realized after it was in the oven that I hadn’t followed the instructions properly at all! It said to put a layer of banana and blueberries on the bottom of the pan. I mixed the banana into the batter and omitted the berries because they weren’t organic and I didn’t want Coco eating them. And then it said to top the whole thing with the coconut milk and I mixed that in as well. Oops! Here’s how mine looked when I took it out of the oven.

Looks pretty tasty, right? Well, I’m here to tell you it was not. I am sure it would have been great if I had followed the recipe. It had a nutty, wholesome taste from the flaxseed that was unexpected and it was seriously lacking in sweetness that the banana and berries would have brought. But it was salvageable!  I served it warm with some butter and a slight drizzle of maple syrup. (And when I say slight I mean slight. I you want real, Grade B maple syrup– the good kind and the only kind I buy– you better be prepared for the sticker shock. Here is twice the cost in the States! It is shocking!!!) It wasn’t bad! We haven’t tried this yet but I plan to serve it to Coco with a drizzle of honey or top it with plain yogurt and fresh berries. I may even spread on some sunflower nut butter and top it with sliced apple or I bet it would be really good with some melted dark chocolate, flaked coconut and chopped nuts. Mmmmm… Breakfast, snack or dessert, it really was a nice change and tasty after all.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Coco, food, health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

