Pumpkin Muffins

We made some pumpkin muffins the other day using Elana Amsterdam’s recipe with the pumpkins we bought at the Pumpkin Patch. I was happy to see how orange the yokes were in the eggs I recently purchased at the market. I was buying my eggs at the Saturday market from a place that claims to have organic, free range hens and lately their yokes have been pale yellow. Unhappy with that I bought some at the grocery store across the street from my house. The carton says they are free range and I think they are since their yokes are bright orange. The bright orange yolk of  a free range hen indicates they are outside eating a diet of bugs (not cooped up inside eating one of corn or soy). Coco loves to crack the eggs and did a great doing that again. I used my silicone baking cups. Love them!

And then came the long anticipated moment.. tasting them!! Eh, they were just okay. They weren’t good cooled at all. You must eat these warm and adding butter helps. I didn’t add all the spices because it seemed like too much and that was a mistake. Do that! And to me they just weren’t sweet enough and I don’t like things super sweet. But we ate them. 😉 I still had some leftover pumpkin so I made another batch a week later. This time I added an overflowing tablespoon of maple syrup and didn’t skimp on the spices. Much better!!!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Coco, food, health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

