It’s Been a Crazy Few Weeks

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks. I am sooooooo busy! The job fair was fruitful. I got some offers but I haven’t accepted anything as of yet. It was so fun to be back in the States though! Someone didn’t want me to go and tried to convince me to pack her in my suitcase! I stayed in Oakland for a few nights and got to go hiking in the hills. It was so gorgeous! I am so missing clean, green space and I was in awe of the beauty of the landscape. I also got to hang out while I was there.. and would you believe I had two dates?! I was there less than a week! It was so nice to not be invisible anymore. Going out in Manila really messes with your self-esteem. The men don’t even glance in your direction; they make you feel like you are 90 years old and completely undesirable. It sucks! So nice to be appreciated by men again. In fact, being back in the States made me realize how much I miss that type of interaction and how important it is for me. Living abroad is awesome in a lot of ways but for someone like me I think the States and Europe are my only options for finding a mate.

IMG_5783 IMG_5810IMG_5793 IMG_5791

I don’t know where we’ll end up next year but you can bet your bottom dollar it will be somewhere with some men!! Gotta find someone before I am too old and decrepit. LOL

What else has been going on? IMG_5889 We celebrated the yaya’s birthday with cupcakes. Do you see Coco’s hair in that photo above? Yup cornrows!!!

I tried my hand at cornrows again and it turned out moderately well. She liked the beads.IMG_5838 IMG_5845 IMG_5848
She loves ‘messing up my photos with her silly faces. Crazy girl! She cracks me up!

I made it out one night! Awesome night with friends and great sushi too!IMG_5564 IMG_5563 IMG_5570 IMG_5578

Now I am in a holding pattern waiting to hear from the different jobs I applied for. We could end up anywhere from Europe to the States to Africa or the Caribbean! It’s cool to think about though I do wonder how being a third culture kid who is also adopted by a single parent will play out for Coco. She is so happy and at home here– so much so that it’s hard to think about uprooting her again. I guess I just have to believe that we have a strong bond and remember how resilient kids are and how this exposure to different cultures is in her best interest. I do believe that but she does have this additional layer. Well, we’ll see. We could easily end up back home or in Ethiopia. Keep ya posted!

This entry was posted in adoption, bars and restaurants, Coco, expat life, single parenting, yaya. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Been a Crazy Few Weeks

  1. Soror Jacqui says:

    You look fabulous Soror. God has you covered and you will meet that special one. Do not let the men on the Phillipines affect your self esteem. Later for them. You are absolutely stunning.

    • Joy says:

      oh, you are so sweet! thank you! and i have been thinking about how i need to put more trust in God to help me find that special someone. please put some prayers up for me! thx

  2. Jessi says:

    Miss you (and the blog). So happy for you and your job offers… even though I know it makes for a tough decision. Either way I love you guys and can’t wait to see you again!

Leave a Reply

