That Was Freakin’ Hard

…but … drumroll please…

I’m returning to the States! Yup, family trumped the $30,000/yr+ savings potential. Wow, even typing that makes me want to cry. I miss the money already. Trust me, I will be living back overseas ASAP but I am very comfortable with my decision. Or at least I was. Check out this message my friend sent me when she heard the news:

“Have you lost your mind! A Dad for Coco is in Ethiopia definitely not in DC. The worst decision that I have ever made in my entire life was to come back to DC over ten years ago. A nightmare realized is to live here. Our neighborhood is ghetto. DC folks are mostly ghetto. It is repulsive & I hate it. You are torturing yourself to come back here. Why would you turn down more money abroad to come and suffer and struggle in DC? It just makes no sense. We shall wish you well from afar because we will never be back to this retched city ever again. I warn you now to change your mind before it is too late & avoid DC at all costs or your future happiness will be jeopardized. I have fairly warned you & no longer feel responsible if you choose wrongly. Best of luck!”

Yes, I actually got this message on my Facebook account! Um, okay, it’s not paradise but that wasn’t part of the equation. I am looking forward to having Coco spend time with her grandparents and reconnecting with old friends before we return to life overseas. And of anyone, I know how quickly two years can fly by. Seriously, it seems like just yesterday that I was running around like a chicken with its head cut off trying to prepare for this move! Well, I did feel every excruciating culture-shock filled minute but as they say the days are long but the years are short and frankly I can’t wait to move back home.

 

This entry was posted in Coco, expat life, family, finances, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to That Was Freakin’ Hard

  1. Did DC steal that lady’s lunch money or something? jeez…

  2. Jacqui says:

    Great decision Soror. Sacrificing your health and quality of life to live in Ethiopia for money is not worth it. What if you caught something over there? You would never forgive yourself. Why be so far away from your family. What if an emergency came up and you had to get home?. Live for you and follow your heart.

    Now for the DC hater, it is obvious she has no class. I’m a born and bred Washingtonian and I laugh at ignorant people like her. Those comments were offensive but it speaks volumes about her. And she wonders why she is still single? Who would put up with that stank attitude? DC is not a ghetto. Where is she from and where is she currently living that is do great? DC is one of the only cities in the country that currently has bidding wars on home sales. I guess all these people want to live on the Ghetto. You shouldn’t be hard on yourself based on her self hate. I can’t wait for us to get together. No excuses this time. Love you. Soror Jacqui

  3. Jessi says:

    lol. I agree that Coco getting to spend more time with her grandparents while she can is a priceless benefit. With Tom’s dad being sick I definitely have come to appreciate time spent with family much, much more.

  4. Annie says:

    Great Decision! I really think you made the right one! Best of Luck!

  5. pierre leavell says:

    Great news…wise decision…first rounds on me!

  6. TraShawn Thornton-Davis says:

    What kind of friend is that? What DC does she live in? I’ve lived in the DMV for years, and love it! She clearly has issues that are totally unrelated to this area. Most progressive area in the country for Black Americans, so I’m not quite sure what she means.
    I’ve also done my stint in Ethiopia, trust me it will always be there. I stayed there prior to my daughter, but I was so homesick. Loved the people, but you couldn’t pay me to live there again. If your over pollution and third world living, you don’t want to live in Addis! Just my 2 cents ;-0

Leave a Reply

