Friends

They say it takes a couple of years to get settled in a new place. I knew that coming in and don’t you know, now that it almost time to go I am starting to actually like it here? I know, crazy. I have a lot of things to look forward to with the move, but I also have a lot of things I am going to miss. And to be real with you, expat life kinda rocks! No, that doesn’t do it justice… it is awesome! Yes, it’s hard as hell sometimes –especially doing it as a single parent– but all in all (if you can make some good friends) the lifestyle abroad is downright amazing.

It has just started to hit me all the things I am going to be giving up when I move: full-time childcare/cook/housekeeper, making a ton of money, traveling to exotic places and meeting and spending time with like-minded people. Here is a picture of me and some friends after dinner one night. No, make that lunch. We were invited to lunch at 2:00 but this picture was taken around 8pm when we were all still hanging out talking and laughing and drinking wine. I am going to miss so many people. I met so many cool folks in just the last few months. What a shame. I suffered my first year and hated living here and now I must admit I am going to miss it. Well, not the traffic and the pollution or the filth but the new friendships that aren’t going to be able to flourish.photo 1

The photo is blurry–it was just an impromptu cell phone shot–but it captures the essence of expat life: folks from all over the world enjoying an evening out together and having a fantastic time.

This entry was posted in expat life, friends, Philippines. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

