Coco and Her Best Friend

IMG_9008Coco hasn’t ever had a best friend. She played with everyone, boys and girls alike, but up until a couple of months ago she never really connected with any one child in particular. I had mixed feelings about this. On one hand it’s nice to have a best friend; on the other it can be divisive. It’s nice to have someone to share your interests but it can also cause conflicts. I wanted her to be happy at school but I worried about her leaving someone close behind. Enter E, her new best friend. E entered school just two months ago and she and Coco immediately bonded and became inseparable. They did everything together and Coco would come home talking about her every day. I loved it but I worried so much about how she would manage without her next year. When I thought about next year and Coco being back in the States I got pangs of guilt. When I saw in her report card reflection that she wrote playing with E was her most memorable part of Preschool I wanted to cry!

Turns out E’s parents are going to put her in a different school in the fall because the tuition for 4 children is too high. I think the fact that Coco isn’t returning had something to do with their decision and I breathed a huge sigh of relief. Even if she were to stay E wouldn’t be here. She’s going to miss her anyway but somehow this makes it easier.

This entry was posted in Coco, firsts, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

