Basil-infused Simple Syrup

Mmmmmm.. I love basil so much and this recipe sounded sooo good! Coco helped me measure and stir but I’m pretty sure her favorite part was licking the bowl. 😉 Since I don’t keep regular refined white sugar in the house anymore I used palm sugar. Palm sugar isn’t as sweet and has a richer, more molasses-like flavor so I added a bit more. The recipe states to remove the leaves after an hour or so but why would I do that?! I don’t plan on removing the basil leaves at all so they can continue to impart their delightful flavor to the syrup. I poured some of the sweet syrup over some strawberries and it was a very tasty and light dessert.

(it looks more appetizing and much prettier when refined sugar is used and the syrup is clear!)

Here’s the recipe I used. I found it on Shockinglydelicious.com

Basil Simple Syrup

1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup water
1 cup fresh basil leaves

Boil the water and sugar. Turn down the heat and add the basil. Steep at least 45 minutes.

Now if I could only find more uses for the syrup and I hope it freezes well because we go on vacation in the morning. Any ideas?

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Basil-infused Simple Syrup

  1. shockinglydelicious says:

    Keep it in the refrigerator and it will last for a long time! Thanks for trying the recipe!

Leave a comment